Harriet Popham – Print Designer

Harriet Popham is a local, illustrative print designer from Somerset. I came across Harriet a few years ago through mutual friends sharing some of her work on Facebook. It instantly caught my interest as I was just learning how to use free machine embroidery myself at college.

Harriet uses print and embroidery to illustrate architecture and animals, inspired by places that she has visited or by her surroundings. Her work reminds me of artist Laura McCafferty – who illustrates scenes using free machine embroidery and appliqué.

After researching big high street brands and designers so far I thought it would be great to look at local designers. As this project is about who we are and who we aspire to be as a designer, Harriet is a great example of this. I would love to create my own brand with my own style, creating work for myself and for commissions after graduating.

http://www.harrietpopham.com

Leave a Reply

